My 1940 Dodge truck Build

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My 1940 Dodge truck Build

This isn't a pick up.....it's a Rack Bed Dumper. Not sure but maybe 1.5 Ton. I added a picture....

Trying to get a plan going for this build and since I'm new at Rat Rodding (not new to hot rods & customs) my minds going in a million directions....lol. My first step is to pull the cab off the frame and start cleaning it up, chop it, fix some of the rot that's inside the cab ect. The body is very solid and most of the rust/ rot is inside the cab.... bracing above the windshield, floor ect.

I'm going to try to sell the dump rack bed, it's all there....hinge, ram, linkage ect. If there's a classified here I'll post it.

My first question is do I rework the existing frame? Can I get it to lay frame? Or do I drop this on a dakota frame? It has some big split rims on it that I'd love to use.

I'd love to have any idea's you guys might have.
    Attached Files

That style of Dodge truck was built between 1939 and 1947. I'd say yours was probably a 41 or newer because the headlights are on the crown of the fenders. Earlier truck had the headlights on the panel between the fenders and the grill shell.
    There are a lot of parts available for that era Dodge truck because that was the cab Dodge used on all military trucks from 1939 until around 1967. There are several companies that are repoping parts (though most are not cheap). A couple of parts suppliers that are actual making parts are: www.vintagepowerwagons.com and wwwrobertsmotorparts.com
    There are several builds of these trucks right here on Killbillet. There is a 39 on a Dakota chassis in the 30s truck section, and there are a few 46- 47's on Dakota and S10 frame in the 40s truck section.