62 C10 Build

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 62 C10 Build

I'm new to KB and though I've posted here and there for years on other sites, I never really felt like doing a build thread, but you guys make me feel at home... I'm always on here looking at the cool builds and so enjoy seeing everyone's projects come to life. Lot's of talent and vision on here.

My Dad is and always was a car-nut since I can remember; made me one too. Unfortunately he's not doing so good these days with his health and I'm hoping to get it done in time for he and I to enjoy it some before we can't.

For some time now I've lived away from my family, so I keep a journal on the build to share with him and send him updates from time to time.

This build's been going on for 3 years and it's a low-buck, home-grown version of what I've learned from my experience with previous builds and seeing what others have done.

I don't always get as much done as I'd like too, but it's finally getting there.

If all that makes any sense (?) and you guys won't mind - I'm going to dedicate this build to my Dad.

This is a pic of my Dad a couple years back with his new (then) car and this is where I started on my 1962 Chevrolet C10 short wide BBW as well as what it looks like today.

We started with a fairly solid Texas truck, originally a 235 6 cylinder, with 3 speed manual truck, but a previous owner had swapped out the 3 speed for a truck four speed at some point.

Started by tearing it down to the frame and bringing it back up with a 1964 Chevy truck 283, 1983 TH350C transmission, and 1973 K10 posi rear with 3:08 gears, aftermarket Blazer tank conversion, static drop is 5 1/2" front and 6" rear.

A 78 2WD 'burb was the front cross-member donor and we added drop spindles and coils. Coils and blocks out back with a pipe-notch.

If you guys are interested - I'll try to get it up to date as we go along.

Thanks for looking,
    Bob
    Attached Files
    peace ~ rg