Follow Us On Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube Watch us on Google+
Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Picked up first rat rod.. Starter questions...1947 ford

Hi there, brand new to the site. Just picked up this 1947 ford 3/4 ton long box (wish it was a shorty) for $800 bucks delivered with a cool gas tank & some old tongue & groove wood for the bed. Its complete besides the tailgate (anybody got one for sale in the MN area?). Does not run and hasn't for 3 years (so he says)

Anyways, My plan is to get it running and driving "as is" for as cheap as possible. Im a college student with no cash. The patinas fuxin sweet. I want to stay under $1500 ish for the build.

I have a few basic knowledge questions to start:

First the motor: it has a straight 6 and 6 volt. best place to start getting it running? and what should i know when converting to a 12 volt?

wheels: i heard these are split rims are no good. but i can't find replacements that fit the bolt pattern and the big ass hub. I just want steelies with (maybe) white walls. Whats the best route? lug conversion? anybody know wheels that would fit? its a 5 lug by 7 bolt pattern & needs a good sized hole in the middle.

Lowering: whats the best route? flip the shackles?

lastly: Like i said i just want to get it running and driving for $1500 or under. let me know of any details i should know about the truck/build or references i should know about.

Thanks in advanced! its communities like this that keep rodding alive & information flowing...post pictures of your fav 47 fords if you don't mind
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_4937.jpg 
Views:	19 
Size:	148.4 KB 
ID:	143544   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_4938.jpg 
Views:	19 
Size:	150.2 KB 
ID:	143545   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_4936.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	128.8 KB 
ID:	143546   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_4935.jpg 
Views:	22 
Size:	135.4 KB