Follow Us On Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube Watch us on Google+
Register
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Default new to the rat rod world.

i just turned 18, and am dying to find a cheap build. i have some knowledge, but could really use some leads. are there any good classifieds where i could find either a 20's-30's body or a 50's body?

p.s.-being 18, im running a VERY tight budget, so i hope to have something to post in the under 3000 club.:D

Default Welcome

I would try craig's list in your area, you could get lucky and find something. Here is something in your areahttp://cnj.craigslist.org/car/373805877.html
    Last edited by 31RATRUCK; 07-17-2007 at 06:40 PM.

start with the cheep and free parts, kinda what im doing now. look around for a donar car and junk yards that may have other good parts. i took some stainless to the scrapers the other day and saw like 5 kegs that i suppose if i asked i could have swapped and just got less money. talk around with your buddies see if they know of any hoopdies that you could use the drive train, then scrap anything else. sofar i have 1 sbc motor 1 complete donar car 79 olds cutlass with olds 350 lots of metal to make frame floor gussets etc, radious rods, and so on and hasnt cost me anything. this way when it comes time to start spending you can better price your self. i know that i need pretty much the whole front end, and a radiator, master cylinder, guages and so on.
    ________
    BestOfBest4U cam
    Last edited by cadillacoffin; 08-25-2011 at 03:38 PM.

Craig just be patient and you find what you are looking for. You have your entire life ahead of you to build hot rods. Kill Billet is a great place for information. And their are some solid guys on this site to help you with your build.....

Welcome and good luck....!!